Official Team Photo – SANAE 47

Here it is – the official S47 team photo.  This is a copy of the image that will hang forever at the base alongside the 46 previous SANAE teams,  one or two oddities (such as the Borga field team, etc), and hopefully many new and brilliant teams long into the future.  There we are, with SANAE IV in the background:


Standing L->R:  Gerhard Laubscher (Electronic Engineer),  Saziso Nginda (Electrical Engineer), Llewellyn Kriedemann (HF Radar Engineer).  Sitting L->R:   Neels Fourie (Diesel Mechanic and Deputy Leader), Ross Hofmeyr (Doctor and Leader), Anton van Zyl (Mechanical Engineer), Richard Duncan (Diesel Mechanic), Santjie du Toit (Meteorologist), Morgan O’Kennedy (Cosmic Ray Engineer).

Click on the image for a large view.  For comparison, here is a scan of the team photo of SANAE 2, who overwintered in 1961 (I prefer this one to S1, as S2’s photo has a dog…)


In a few days we go back to the ship and sail for South Africa. I’ll miss this crowd.


2 Responses to “Official Team Photo – SANAE 47”

  1. inc.ryan Says:


  2. Leon1 Says:

    I am trying to trace a Gerhard Laubsher that did matric in 1978 in Zwaanswyk? Have I found the right Gerhard? Leon

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.